Redistricting Advisory Committee



Greatness grows here.

AMENDED

REDISTRICTING ADVISORY COMMITTEE MINUTES OF JUNE 30, 2021

The San Joaquin County Redistricting Advisory Committee met in regular session on June 30, 2021 at 3:00 pm, in the San Joaquin County Administration Building, 44 N. San Joaquin St., #430, Stockton.

The meeting was called to order by Stephen DeBrum, Chair.

The Pledge of Allegiance to the flag was given.

Roll Call: (present)	Primary Members (D5) Stephen DeBrum, Chair (D4) Pamela Eibeck, Vice-Chair (D5) Alice English (D2) Anne Baird (D1) Bob Mooney (D3) Mike Morowit (D1) Oscar Valdez (D4) Summer Pennino
	<u>Alternate Members</u> (D1) AngelAnn Flores (D4) Mamie Star
	<u>County Staff</u> Zoey Merrill, County Counsel Kimberly Johnson, County Counsel
	Mo Hatef, County Administrators Office
	Glen Fowler, Supervisorial Redistricting Project Manager
	<u>Community Development Department</u> David Kwong, Director of Community Development David Bollinger, GIS Program Manager Sonia Serrano, Administrative Assistant
(absent)	(D3) James Grunsky -Excused (D2) Max Vargas – Rescinded his appointment/recently moved (D5) Richard Silverman - Absent

APPROVAL OF PREVIOUS MEETING MINUTES:

1. Minutes from June 9, 2021.

MOTION:

It was moved, seconded (Anne Baird / Mike Mooney), and passed with a vote of 8 - 0 - 2 to:

1. Approve and accept the minutes.

VOTE:

AYES	NOES:	
Х		(D4) Pamela Eibeck
Х		(D5) Alice English
Х		(D2) Anne Baird
Х		(D1) Bob Mooney
		(D3) James Grunsky
		(D2) Max Vargas
Х		(D3) Mike Morowit
Х		(D1) Oscar Valdez
X		(D4) Summer Pennino
X		(D5) Stephen DeBrum

ABSENT: James Grunsky, Max Vargas

ACTION ITEMS:

MOTION:

It was moved, seconded (Mike Morowit / Anne Baird), and passed with a vote of 8 - 0 - 2 to:

1. Add Final Redistricting Advisory Committee Calendar as agenda item

VOTE:

AYES	NOES:	
Х		(D4) Pamela Eibeck
Х		(D5) Alice English
Х		(D2) Anne Baird
Х		(D1) Bob Mooney
		(D3) James Grunsky
		(D2) Max Vargas
Х		(D3) Mike Morowit
Х		(D1) Oscar Valdez
Х		(D4) Summer Pennino
Х		(D5) Stephen DeBrum

ABSENT: James Grunsky, Max Vargas

MOTION:

It was moved, seconded (Mike Morowit / Anne Baird), and passed with a vote of 8 - 0 - 2 to:

2. Approve the Redistricting Advisory Committee Calendar

VOTE:

AYES	NOES:	
Х		(D4) Pamela Eibeck
Х		(D5) Alice English
Х		(D2) Anne Baird
Х		(D1) Bob Mooney
		(D3) James Grunsky
		(D2) Max Vargas
Х		(D3) Mike Morowit
Х		(D1) Oscar Valdez
Х		(D4) Summer Pennino
Х		(D5) Stephen DeBrum

ABSENT: James Grunsky, Max Vargas

Presentations:

Presentations were made by Connie Malloy, Chief Executive Officer of the Panta Rhea Foundation, Cynthia Dai, CEO of Dainamic Consulting, Inc., Carlos Marquez, owner of CM3 Advocacy LLC and Paul Mitchell, owner of Redistricting Partners regarding the Role of Committee Members and Redistricting Overview.

Chair asked if any public comments had been received. No public comments had been received.

ADJOURMENT MOTION:

It was moved, seconded (Anne Baird / Pamela Eibeck), and passed with a majority vote to adjourn the meeting.

The meeting adjourned at 5:01 P.M.

R.A.C. MINUTES

06-30-2021